ndert2
Follow us on Facebook

Latest Comments

Calendar of Events

**************

Eating Liberally -- The 4th Thursday of each month -- Valentino's, 1443 42nd St Sw, Fargo, ND -- 6:00 p.m.

This is  a time to get together and eat and talk , just time for  our friends.   There is no format, dues, agenda etc.,   We can meet anytime or place we decide, picnic pot luck,  local food, anything we want to, even invite  speakers.  But for now please show up, eat and talk to like minded friends.  No need to RSVP just stop by and eat. email Trana if you like.

************

Anybody got anything that's interesting for me?

ND Outdoors Sites

FishingBuddy
NoDakOutdoors

Featured Link

Meanwhile

Login Form



Support NorthDecoder

Search This Site

Loading

Feature Stories

Personal
The Low Road

Amazon Search

JoomlaWatch 1.2.12 - Joomla Monitor and Live Stats by Matej Koval
Unsophisticated ND Media Gives Rick Berg Huge, In-Kind Campaign Contribution PDF Print E-mail
Written by Chet   

Yesterday, two right-leaning North Dakota TV companies -- KFYR in Bismarck and KVLY in Fargo -- all of which are owned by "Hoak Media Corporation" of Texas, gave to Rick Berg something that I believe was an inappropriate, in-kind campaign contribution. How did they do it? They handed Berg a bogus campaign issue, by pulling advertisements produced by the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee (DSCC) because they were (allegedly) false and misleading, when they were, in fact, neither. Berg and his surrogates spent the whole day yesterday blasting out press releases and Tweets, falsely asserting Heitkamp and/or the DSCC were engaging in false advertising.  

Look for Rick Berg to use the fact Hoak pulled the ads in as many fiction-filled campaign ads in the upcoming four weeks.  

What am I talking about?  

Let's walk through this.

First, the DSCC had an ad produced.  Here's what the "revised" ad looks like, after one minor change has been made:

According to a press release from the DSCC, there has been exactly one change made to the ad.  Here's how they describe it:

This sentence:

The company was even listed as Berg's employer on his real estate license and on federal forms.

Has now been changed to this:

The company was even on Berg's real estate license and was listed as his employer on federal forms.

I admit: I had to read these several times, and look at the license itself, before I figured out what was going on here.  Before seeing the license itself, what I thought I had figured out was that Berg Goldmark was not -- in fact -- listed as Berg's "employer" on the real estate license; he must have been listed as an "independent contractor" or "affiliate" or something like that.  Then I saw the license:

BergRealEstateLicense

See that?  The license shows Berg was "associated with" "Goldmark Property Management, Inc."  It doesn't say Goldmark Property Management, Inc. (GPMI) was his employer. So then I was convinced that Berg must have written on his license application form that he was an independent contractor, or affiliate or somehow otherwise "associated with" GPMI.  But Berg must be whining that he had not ever said he had an employer/employee relationship with GPMI.

But then I found out Goldmark has created a new website -- what I'd characterize as being "another in-kind campaign contribution to Rick Berg" -- to try to help Berg distance himself from the questionable, low-rated-by-the-better-business-bureau company.  Here's what they put on their pro-Berg website:

BergListsEmployer

(Source:  www.goldmarkis.com)

See that?  Goldmark's own website acknowledges that it "is true" that "Rick Berg signed an application in December of 1994 for his real estate license listing GOLDMARK Property Management, Inc., as his employer."

****************************

NERD SIDEBAR:  Before I go too much further, I should outline, briefly, what I know about "www.goldmarkis.com"  WWW.GOLDMARKIS.COM is a brand-new, poorly designed website, hosted on Goldmark's web server.  How do I know this?  I'll walk you through it fairly quickly.

First, open up a "command prompt" on your computer.  That's the old DOS C:\ prompt.  Plug in these words, minus the quotation marks:  "PING www.goldmarkis.com".  What you should get is this:

GoldmarkisPING

Now... See the series of numbers?  It's "65.183.254.156" and that's the IP address of the web server that hosts the WWW.GOLDMARKIS.COM website.

Okay.  So, now that we know that, we can plug the same IP address into a "WHOIS" site.  I like "domaintools.com".  Here's the address I'd use:  http://whois.domaintools.com/65.183.254.156.  When I plug that address into my browser, here's what I get:

IPGoldmark

That might be hard to read, so I'll just tell you what's important on there (or you can click on the link I put just above the graphic to see it on your browser, which seems to be working just fine):  It says the IP address 65.183.254.156 hosts one other website:  www.goldmark.com.  That's why I'm comfortable telling you it's Goldmark's web server.

*******************************

So now we have Goldmark itself telling us Rick Berg filled out a form saying Berg's employer was GPMI.  So even if he was not actually an employee of GPMI, he had filled out a form saying he was, and a license was issued saying he was "associated" with GPMI, which is to say that, although the license itself did not say he was an employee, the application form signed by Berg -- under penalty of perjury -- that caused the license to be published did, in fact, say Berg was an employee of GPMI.  And that's not me talking; it's Goldmark.  

So if everything in the DSCC ad was true, then why would Hoak Media pull the DSCC's ad yesterday?  

There seem (to me) to be only two possibilities:  either (a) the people at the Hoak stations were too stupid to figure out the things I've outlined above, or (b) Hoak Media's intention all along was to spoon-feed a phony, trumped-up sound-bite to Berg so he could use it in future advertising, and for Berg's surrogates to blast out, repeatedly, giving the (false) impression that the DSCC and/or Heitkamp had ever said something in an ad about Berg that wasn't true.  

I don't think the people in management at Hoak, KVLY and/or KFYR are stupid. (Not commenting here about their reporters.) So I think that only leaves option (b), above: that it was an in-kind campaign contribution to Berg, worth tens of thousands of dollars. They created -- from whole clothe -- a campaign issue for Berg.  That's worth a lot of money.

Now, let's see whether the Hoak gimme or the Goldmark pro-Berg website get reported by Berg as in-kind campaign contributions.  

Not holding my breathe...


Comments (4)add comment

What the Heck said:

Berg's former pet agency
Anyone read the latest update about WSI's colossal software debacle/huge waste of taxpayer funds? Seems to me they could have purchased casino software for a lot less. Their claims approval process doesn't appear to be any less random nor are the odds any better.
 
October 09, 2012
Votes: +1

big jake said:

...
The Barbarians are in charge. It appears that North Dakota is getting exactly what it deserves. Berg, like Romney is pathological. It is not lying if you believe it at that moment.

Again, where are the Democratic candidates in addressing the outright lies? Where is the courage to call them on this crap? I am viewing the same nonsense that has been the demise of the Democratic party for over 30 years. Maybe this total drubbing will cause enough to say enough. We are damn sure better than that at the grass roots level. But those in charge are just that. There is no place in North Dakota politics nor national politics for the Bergs or Cramers or Jack from the Valley. This is our state but if we just don't give a damn. I know that a lot of good folks agree with this. But that is not enough. We need to speak out.
 
October 09, 2012
Votes: +4

Mark Nelson said:

Richard A."Rick" Berg's apartment ownership and management interests go much further than Goldmark
Berg was until very recently the Registered Agent of Westwind Properties LLC - the address - the same as the Goldmark address - this has recently changed for Westwind - now a fictitious name registration at the Secretary of States office - owner Inreit Properties LLLP 1707 Gold Dr S STE 200 P.O. Box 3024 Fargo - again the Goldmark address and who is the registered agent ? the 17 media outlets that received my letter to the editor recently and published not one word will not tell you. Berg chose his then ownership partner to manage the properties see renters reviews on that disaster. This blog: rickbergcorruption.blogspot.com shows that the shell game rapidly goes to questions of legality - that is to say criminality.
 
October 11, 2012
Votes: +2

nimrod's leftist cousin said:

...
New dictionary: photo of Rick Berg next to the entry for "hubris"
 
October 11, 2012
Votes: +1

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy